Swim Academy Stages - Abbeycroft Leisure

Swim Academy Stages

For children under 18 months accompanied by an adult. The aim of these sessions is to introduce the adult and baby to the world of swimming, fostering both enjoyment and confidence.

Ducklings 1 & 2
For Children 18 months to 3 years accompanied by an adult. These sessions will reinforce or introduce practices learnt in the previous stage. Group activities will encourage social interaction and build confidence levels even higher.

Ducklings 3 & 4
For Children 3 to 4 years. This is the first independent lesson introducing independent movement in the water with the use of floatation devices. The class scenario is introduced so the pupils are aware of what is required of them, but this will also be the start of what is considered to be more swimming lesson type outcomes – moving away from the fun experienced based learning.

Stage 1
For pupils who are four years upwards with little or no water experience. In this class the pupil will develop their safety awareness, the ‘class scenario’, basic movement skills and water confidence skills appropriate to their age.

Stage 2
For pupils who have passed Stage 1 or have had an assessment. Pupils will develop safe entries to the water, including jumping in, basic floating, travel and rotation unaided to regain upright position.

Stage 3
For pupils who have passed Stage 2 or have had an assessment. This class will see pupils develop safe entries including submersion, travel up to 10 metres on their front and back, progress rotation skills and water safety knowledge.

Stage 4
For pupils who have passed Stage 3 or have had an assessment. In this class pupils will develop their understanding of buoyancy through a range of skills, refining kicking technique for all strokes and kick 10 metres to a given standard as directed by Swim England. A 10 metre swim is also included but can be done in a choice of stroke.

Stage 5
For pupils who have passed Stage 4 or have had an assessment. Pupils will learn and develop ‘watermanship’ through skills including sculling, treading water and complete rotation, they will also perform all strokes for a distance of 10 metres to a standard directed by Swim England.

Stage 6
For pupils who have passed Stage 5 or have had an assessment. All four strokes will be refined further in this stage with specific milestones for each stroke required, developing aquatic safety and understanding of the preparation of exercise is also developed.

Stage 7
For pupils who have passed Stage 6 or have had an assessment. This is the final stage before the introduction of alternative disciplines, at this stage all four strokes need to be swum for a distance of 25 metres, amongst other skills which really do test the skills learnt so far.

Stage 8, 9 & 10
For pupils who have passed the previous Stage or have had an assessment. It is at this stage that the separate disciplines of Competitive Swimming, Diving, Water Polo & Rookies are introduced giving the swimmer a broader understanding of aquatics in order to inspire participation throughout their lifetime. Newmarket – Disciplines are treated as separate classes giving a greater depth of skills and knowledge. Bury, Haverhill & Mildenhall – Disciplines are taught together giving each pupil a broader understanding sooner.

For further information please visit Swim England’s website

Adult Beginners
For non swimmers/beginners. Aimed at improving water confidence and introducing basic stroke techniques.

Adult Improvers
For the more able swimmer. Aimed at improving stroke techniques, building stamina and introducing dives and turns.